About Us: Staff and Board

Pacific Institute Staff

The staff and board of the Pacific Institute reflect our interdisciplinary perspective.

Terry Asbury, Executive Assistant

Cindy Foley, Finance and Operations Manager

Michael J. Cohen, Senior Research Associate

Heather Cooley, Water Program Co-Director

Kristina Donnelly, Research Associate

Catalina Garzón, Community Strategies Program Director

Dr. Peter H. Gleick, President

Mai-Lan Ha, Research Associate

Matthew Heberger, Research Associate

Misha Hutchings, Senior Research Associate

Paula Luu, Communications Manager

Jason Morrison, Corporate Sustainability Program Director

Asha Nordwall, Office Manager

Jessica Parra-Fitch, Popular Education Associate

Nancy Ross, Communications Director

Peter Schulte, Research Associate

Pete Stanga, Chief Operating Officer

Anna Bee Szendrenyi, Agricultural Water Steward Project Coordinator

Stefanie Woodward, Research Associate


Pacific Institute Board

Peter Boyer, Trustee of The Ayrshire Foundation, member of the National Advisory Board of the Union of Concerned Scientists, and Chair for Rocky Mountain Institute National Solutions Council.

Kelly Cash, Berkeley-based consultant in non-profit content strategy.  For two decades she was a central brand-builder for The Nature Conservancy, on teams that took the organization from 300,000 to over 1 million members and pioneered community-based conservation.

Dr. Anne H. Ehrlich, Senior Research Associate, Department of Biological Sciences at Stanford University.

Dr. Eric Gimon, postdoctoral researcher in particle physics at the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Peter H. Gleick, President of the Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment, and Security.

Dr. Corey Goodman, Managing Director and co-founder of venBio LLC; Adjunct Professor at UCSF; Chairman of the Board of  Second Genome, Oligasis, and Ossianix; member of the Board of NeuroTherapeutics and Mirna; elected member of the National Academy of Sciences; and member of the California Council on Science and Technology.

Margaret Gordon, Second Vice-President of the Board of Port of Oakland Commissioners and a founding member of the West Oakland Environmental Indicators Project.

Dr. Malo André Hutson, Assistant Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, Department of City and Regional Planning, specializing in community and economic development, regional planning, and urban health.

Olivier J. Marie, business strategist, former Partner at Accenture and Booz Allen & Hamilton, Energy Analyst. Works with MBA students from the Haas School of Business New Sector Alliance helping non-profit organizations.

Richard Morrison, former Senior Vice President and Director of Environmental Policies & Programs, Bank of America.

Bruce Pasternack, former President and CEO of the Special Olympics International; on board of  Codexis and Accelrys; former director of BEA Systems, Quantum Corporation, and Symyx Technologies. Prior to being a director for public companies, he was a Senior Vice President of Booz-Allen & Hamilton Inc.

Dr. Robert Stephens, chairperson — founder and former President of the Multi-State Working Group on Environmental Performance (MSWG). Retired in 2004 as the Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management and Sustainability at the California Environmental Protection Agency, he is currently the Chair of the International Committee of MSWG and serves as Secretariat to the United Nations Environmental Program, Best Practices Network for Sustainable Development.

Professor Michael J. Watts, Professor, Geography Department at the University of California, Berkeley where he specializes in Third World development, forestry issues, and world geography.